Go to Related Society

About Us
Mission Statement
Board of Directors and Officers
Organizational Chart
Financial Reports
Annual Reports
Contact Us
Work Locations

Change Font Size:
Increase font size Decrease font size Restore default font size
 Board of Directors and Officers

Chairman of the Board, President
Denise Kennedy - Former President OICD; retired Detroit Publics Schools teacher of Adult Education and grade school. Currently braille proof reader at K and R Braille. A passion for people and helping where and when she can.

Vice President
Rose Smith-Waddy -Former Vice President OICD retired Detroit Publics Schools teacher of Adult Education and grade school

Ather Jammoa

Nicolae Crisan

Other Board Members:

Dennis Opoka - Retired Veterans Administrator

Sowgandhi Bhattu - non-voting board member

Ted Lennox - Retired: Lincoln Park Michigan Public Schools. Teacher of the Blind and Visually Impaired from 1956-2004: grades 1 through 12; Guest Instructor: Eastern Michigan University: 1968-1997; Guest Instructor: Wayne State University: 1981-1999; Guest Instructor Michigan State University: 1967 and 1968

Ex Officio Board Members:

Executive Director
John Whitacre
Phone: (313) 910-7822
Fax (866) 611-5434
Retired: Over 18 years experience in diversified areas of teaching and working with the legally blind. Over 30 years industry experience as an engineer at Ford Motor Company

Associate Executive Director
Nicolae Crisan

Director of Clinical Affairs
Bernard Miller, O.D.
17330 Northland Park Court, Southfield, MI 48075
Phone (248) 552-5453
Fax (248) 552-5404

Jump to top of page  Top Link to this page  Link to this page